Not sure whether you saw the enlarged replay, but the defender Eric Garcia DID touch and marginally deflect the ball. My opinion, even under the old rules, this goal would have stood because of the defender "touching" the ball.
Two scenarios :-
In play the striker is lazily walking back into his own half, and a team mate plays the ball over the last defender, if the striker picks up the ball and goes on to score, that is offside - no dispute. Conversely, the same striker lets the ball run to the opposition keeper, why should the linesman flag him offside when he has made no attempt at intercepting the ball?
Scenario (2), the same lazy striker is walking back into his own half, and the defender, without realising the striker is between him and his keeper and executes a back pass, unfortunately to the striker, who takes the ball and scores. How is this any different when the defender got the last touch?
For me, it's not like he was in an offside position and was obstruction the view of the keeper on a goal bound shot from a team mate.
If you can, watch the enlarged replay, officials got it right in my opinion, not that i had a bet on the game.
Guessing has never been widely acclaimed as a good gambling strategy
The following user(s) said Thank You: spartanza, cross
African Betting Clan is established for the upliftment of the sports punter, who enjoys a bet on horse racing, football and other sports, enabling them to voice their views and opinions on all aspects of the sport of their choice, free of charge.
The views expressed on this website, https://www.africanbettingclan.com are not necessarily the views held by the proprietors of the site. Therefore African Betting Clan will not be responsible for any content posted. No persons under the age of 18 years are permitted to gamble. National Responsible Gambling Programme and its toll-free number (0800 006 008)